Skip to main content

Reading Challenge: A Book about Someone Unlike Yourself

Banner

This Reading Challenge category is wide open! You can pick a book where the main character lives in a different time or place. Or they simply look different from you. They could be loud and outgoing while you're quiet and shy, or vice versa. Maybe you admire them for skills you'd like to gain. Maybe they even have superpowers!

Nonfiction books work for this category, too. You could read a biography about a real person (one of the categories in 2020). You could also choose a book where the main character is not human, but that's another Reading Challenge category this year. Each book can only be used for a single category!

 

Everything Sad Is Untrue by Daniel Nayeri
Everything Sad Is Untrue by Daniel Nayeri

In the tradition of One Thousand and One Nights, the author tells stories from his childhood in Iran. He also shares his experiences as a refugee and an immigrant.

 

Fly on the Wall by Remy Lai
Fly on the Wall by Remy Lai

Nobody knows that Henry is the creator of an online comic that makes fun of kids and teachers at his school. And nothing can stop him from making a solo trip from Australia to Singapore to visit his dad. Or so he thinks!

 

Ikenga by Nnedi Okorafor
Ikenga by Nnedi Okorafor

Nnamdi's favourite superhero is the Incredible Hulk. When he gets similar powers from a magical statue, he is determined to smash bad guys and avenge his father's death.

 

Nasreen's Secret School by Jeanette Winter
Nasreen's Secret School by Jeanette Winter

Based on a true story. When Nasreen's grandmother sends her to a school for girls run by neighbourhood women, she learns about the rich history and culture of Afghanistan.

 

Too Bright to See by Kyle Lukoff
Too Bright to See by Kyle Lukoff

Bug's best friend wants to get a makeover before middle school begins, not knowing that Bug is figuring out what it means to be transgender. On top of that, there's also the matter of a ghost haunting Bug's eerie old house!